Spring 2020 Computer Science Awards

On Design Day, the computer science capstone teams compete for four prestigious awards.

Auto-Owners Exposition Award
MSUFCU Praxis Award
TechSmith Screencast Award
Urban Science Sigma Award

Throughout the morning, each team presents their project to a panel of judges in Engineering Building, Room 3405.

Auto-Owners Exposition Award

Team United Airlines Safety
Virtual Reality Aircraft Walkaround

Caitlin Brown, Ellie Locatis, Jiachen Lin, Jacob Turcano, Cheney Wang Presented by Tony Dean, Ross Hacker and Scott Lake

CSE 498 capstone teams present their projects on Design Day in a variety of ways. Teams create and set up an exhibit where they demonstrate their software systems and answer questions from Design Day attendees. Each team plays their project videos and answers questions for a panel of judges.

The CSE capstone team with the best overall Design Day performance is honored with the Auto-Owners Exposition Award, which is sponsored by Auto- Owners Insurance Company of Lansing, Michigan.

MSU Federal Credit Union Praxis Award

Team MaxCogito
Identity Based Communication and Content Services

Harrison Samoy, Bryan Hitchcock, Tengjiao Wang, Conor Sands, Andrew Kim Presented by April Clobes and Ben Maxim

One of the hallmarks of CSE 498 capstone projects is that of praxis, the process of putting theoretical knowledge into practice. Teams apply a wide variety of information technologies to produce solutions

to complex problems in areas such as business, engineering, computing, and science.

The CSE capstone team that engineers the software system that is the most technically challenging is recognized with the MSU Federal Credit Union Praxis Award, which is sponsored by MSU Federal Credit Union of East Lansing, Michigan.

TechSmith Screencast Award

Team Auto-Owners
Phish Phinder

Madison Bowden, Jacob Loukota, Hunter Hysni, Alex Larson, Gabi Singher Presented by Wendy Hamilton, Tony Lambert and David Norris

Each CSE 498 capstone team produces a video that describes and demonstrates their software product. Starting with a storyboard and a script, teams use Camtasia Studio to synthesize screen recordings, video, audio and other multimedia to produce their project videos.

And the TechSmith Screencast Award goes to…
the CSE capstone team with the best project video. The award is sponsored by the creators of Camtasia Studio, TechSmith of Okemos, Michigan.

Urban Science Sigma Award

Team Michigan State University ITS
Degree Navigator

Tony Fedewa, Chad Capuzzi, Christian Velkovich, Sarah Johanknecht Presented by Robby Buttery, Mike DeRiso and Elizabeth Klee

The CSE 498 experience represents the capstone
of the educational career of each computer science major. An intense semester of teamwork produces impressive deliverables that include a formal technical specification, software, documentation, user manuals, a video, a team web site, and Design Day participation. The resulting sum, the capstone experience, is much greater than the parts.

The capstone team that delivers the best overall capstone experience is recognized with the Urban Science Sigma Award, which is sponsored by Urban Science of Detroit, Michigan.