Applied Engineering


Dr. Philip L. Fioravante is the longstanding sponsor of the Applied Engineering Sciences Capstone Awards. Dr. Fioravante is an alumnus (BS ’84) of our program, winner of the 2004 AES Distinguished Alumni Award, winner of the 2013 College of Engineering Claud R. Erickson Distinguished Alumni Award and current Chair of the College of Engineering Alumni Board. Design Day award winners are selected based on both final written project reports and on oral presentations at Design Day. We thank Dr. Fioravante for his generous and continuing support of the Applied Engineering Sciences Design Day awards.

The Most Impactful Award:

The winners are team Hess “Master Logistics Plan Optimization for Well Wastewater”

Left to Right: Wenqian Ni, Evan Thomas, David Torres, Cameron Buchanan, Eugene Amponsah

The Most Sustainable Award:

The winners are Team MSU IPF “Analysis Tool Development for Air Filtration System Optimization”

Left to Right: Alexander Thaden, Yutong Zhao, James Rohloff, Brett Londos, Matt Goertz