Applied Engineering


Dr. Philip L. Fioravante is the longstanding sponsor of the Applied Engineering Sciences Capstone Awards. Dr. Fioravante is an alumnus (BS ’84) of our program, winner of the 2004 AES Distinguished Alumni Award, winner of the 2013 College of Engineering Claud R. Erickson Distinguished Alumni Award and current Chair of the College of Engineering Alumni Board. Design Day award winners are selected based on both final written project reports and on oral presentations at Design Day. We thank Dr. Fioravante for his generous and continuing support of the Applied Engineering Sciences Design Day awards.

The Spring 2018 Most Sustainable Award:

The winners are Team ArcelorMittal “‘Beached’ Iron Decision-Making Model”

Left to right: Josh Chartier, Michael Hamilton, Saisha Johnson, Samuel Morris, Shayna Evans, Patrick Kuiper, Colin White, Joe White

Presented by Holly Aikens, President of AESC Alumni Board

The Spring 2018 Most Impactful Award:

The winners are Team Ingersoll Rand “Retail-Distribution Market Network Optimization”

Left to right: Chris Rinaldi, Sweet Hou, Maureen Conway, LaToya Smith, Walt Thomas, Milena Montalbano, Austin Latack, Drew Antonelli

Presented by AESC Director Laura Genik

The Spring 2018 Mike Sadler Competitive Edge Award:

The winners are Team MSU Sustainability “Innovation for Efficiency – Library Lighting System”

Left to right: Hao Chen, Charlie Morgan, Paul Rankin, Tim Els, Detong Che, Patrick Donovan, Zixuan (Eddie) Zhang, Joe Backlas

Presented by Karen Sadler and Mark Dantonio, and AESC Director Laura Genik